• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Deputy Speaker of Armenia’s Parliament receives representatives of Greek and Assyrian communities

E-mail Print PDF

Deputy Speaker of Armenia’s Parliament receives representatives of Greek and Assyrian communities

On January 29 the Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly of the Republic of Armenia Eduard Sharmazanov received the representatives of the Greek and Assyrian communities of Armenia.

The Information and Public Relations Department of the National Assembly of the Republic of Armenia informed “Armenpress” that welcoming the members of the national minorities, Eduard Sharmazanov presented the motivation of the meeting. He has informed them that he has initiated with his colleagues a draft statement of the National Assembly, by which the Republic of Armenia recognizes and condemns the genocide perpetrated towards the Greeks and Assyrians in Ottoman Turkey in 1914-1923. The goal of the initiative is to restore the historical justice, defend the human rights, as well as fight against Turkish denial.

In the NA Deputy Speaker’s word, unless the civilized world condemns such crimes perpetrated against humanity, the possibility of their repetition is big. He has considered inadmissible the denial policy still existing in the 21st century.

The NA Deputy Speaker has informed that he has consulted with the deputies included in the NA different factions: their viewpoint on the draft statement is positive. The parliament designs to adopt it during the upcoming spring session.

At the end of the meeting the guests in the name of the communities thanked the NA Deputy Speaker for the expected initiative, as well as submitted recommendations, which related to the further cooperation.



Assyrian Churches


Assyrian Trivia

Which Assyrian king created the world's first library?

Official Assyrian Sites

Awimak Haider (Singer)
Alen Elias (Singer)
Azadoota  (Music Band)
Brynner Aggasi (Drummer & Producer)
David Yonan (Violonist)
Evin Agassi (Singer)
Fred Aprim (Author)
George Chaharbakhshi (Singer)
Hannibal Alkhas (Painter)
Isabell Ishtar (Singer) 
Issa Benyamin (Calligraphist)
Johnson Aghajan (Saxophone Player)
Johnny Youkhana (Singer)
Lazar Malko (Singer)
Linda George (Singer)
Michael Zerang (Composer)
Nadia Louis (Singer)
Ninos Aho
Nuri Kino (Journalist)
Rasson Bet-Yonan (Poetry, Music) 
Rosie Malek-Yonan (Artist, Author)
Shlimon Bet-Shmuel (Singer)
Stella Razgo (Singer)
Walter Aziz (Singer)
Yourik Yaghobian (Singer)

Visitors Counter

mod_vvisit_counterThis Week2577
mod_vvisit_counterLast Week16017
mod_vvisit_counterThis Month44759
mod_vvisit_counterLast Month73984

We have: 26 guests online
Today: Sep 25, 2018